10 Insane (But True) Things About Dachshunds

Whenever I went away on vacation over the past few years, my parents were always kind enough to watch my pet rats – first Patches and Gadget, and then Kahlan and Cara. So when I was asked to help watch the dog when they went away, it only seemed fair. We don’t own any pets currently, so I didn’t have to worry about caring for other animals. But I forgot just how quirky the family dog is.

dachshund-2035695
(Not my dog) – Source: Katrinbechtel, CCo via Pixabay

We got her seven years ago as a puppy, back when I still lived at home. She’s a miniature Dachshund and an only dog, so she’s used to getting her way. She begs shamelessly, sits on you when you’re on the couch, and likes licking legs. When you push her away and prevent her from doing that, she gets sad.

She’s been following me around like a baby duckling, and I’ll admit that it’s pretty cute. And I guess she acts like a typical Dachshund (minus the leg grooming, I don’t think that’s a breed standard). So with the help of this content generator and the Internet, I looked up some facts about the breed as a whole.

  1. Dachshunds were bred in Germany to attack badgers in their dens. Since our dog is a miniature, animals like squirrels and rabbits are more her size.
  2. Despite their small size, Dachshunds have very loud and deep barks. Ours likes to bark every time she goes outside, even if no visible animal is around.
  3. Dogs in general can hear sounds four times farther away than a human can, which could explain why our Dachshund barks so much. Maybe.
  4. Dog nose prints are unique like human fingerprints. Our dog leaves her prints all over the glass door. I wonder if anyone ever takes their dogs nose print for sentimental keepsake?
  5. Most dogs can run up to 19 mph, while some can run even faster. I don’t know where Dachshunds fall on that scale, but ours runs literal circles around the house on a daily basis.
  6. Dachshunds have been one of most popular dogs since the 1950s. Their small size makes them adaptable to small home and apartment living, they are playful, and are good guard dogs. Being short, long and adorable probably helps, too.
  7. They are the smallest hunting breed in the AKC hound group. That’s right, Dachshunds are bred and recognized hunters! Look out squirrels, here I come! (She seriously did almost catch a squirrel once. She has caught frogs multiple times already).
  8. Dachshunds are ranked as one of the most aggressive dog breeds. They might be small, but they were bred to both attack and kill their prey, small as it was. And Dachshunds that aren’t well socialized can get protective of their owners toward both humans and other dogs. Our dog acts more like a big chicken around other dogs, though!
  9. Dachshund racing started in Australia in the 1970s, and also included other dog breeds. It was based on pure fun, but Dachshund racing continues today. They aren’t the fastest dog breed, but I think the cute overload of watching a small, high-energy, short-legged dog run a race draws people in.
  10. During World War I, Dachshunds were actually shunned in the U.S. and England because they came from Germany. Some Dachshund owners were even called traitors, and their dogs were attacked. Poor pups! Thankfully their popularity rose again after the war.

Do you know any weird or insane facts about your pet’s history or breed? I actually learned quite a bit about Dachshunds after some light digging. I can almost forgive her loud barking … almost.

I’m just kidding, I love this little dog.


I discovered these facts from the following sources:

Check them out for more facts about Dachshunds and dogs!

Leave a Reply

