So Now You’re Gone and I’m Haunted

This is part of the #NovemberNotes challenge, hosted by Sarah Doughty and Rosema. The song is Almost Lover by A Fine Frenzy.

stars-1245902
Source: Unsplash, CC0 via Pixabay

“It’s really pretty, isn’t it?” the young girl said, a smile spread across her face. Her eyes were glued to the night sky, dark blue and speckled with stars. Sometimes, when she had been at sea, she would run up to the deck at night, lie on her back, and get absorbed into the stars until she fell asleep. When the sky was that beautiful, it was hard to feel sad or sob. If the stars could still shine night after night, through thunder and rain, who was she to give up? Now that she was here, she didn’t have to worry about that. Her best friend … her more-than-friend … had rescued her, after all.

The royal purple dragon stirred beside the girl on the rock ledge, lifting her long neck to gaze at the sky. Yes it is. It is getting dark quick, though. I’ll fly you back, so you don’t trip. The dragon tilted her head to look at the girl, concern in her multifaceted eyes.

“We’ll be fine for a while longer,” the girl replied with a laugh. “But I promise to let you fly me back to our quarters.”

This statement pacified the dragon, though she didn’t relax her muscles. Instead, she lowered her neck and rested her head in the girl’s lap. She could tell that something was bothering Hers. She could feel it through the mental and emotional bond that they shared. The girl smiled and laughed, but deep down she was troubled. The dragon never knew when to ask about these things, though. Not without causing Hers more pain.

“Do you remember,” the girl began, pausing to rub at the dragon’s head. “Do you remember the girl I told you about? The .. friend who rescued me?”

The dragon had to think, saddened that she couldn’t recall much about this person Hers was referring to. Dragons didn’t have especially good memory, but when the purple dragon heard the girl ask that question … she knew it was connected to her sadness somehow.

I’m sorry, but I don’t. I remember that you were rescued before I hatched.

“Well, when she rescued me, I was so happy to see her,” the girl continued in a soft voice. “When she brought me here, I thought we would always be together. For a while we couldn’t be, since I had you to take care of, and training to do. But I thought that, once we graduated, we would finally be together. Does that make sense? I know dragons don’t see things the way people do.”

I always understand you, the dragon assured her, crooning. She could feel the love that she had for this girl that she spoke of. Hers loved her, but this other love was different. Not threatening, but warm. The dragon would be happy, if the girl could have a person to love like that.

“Then … do you think it was wrong of me to expect something like that?” the girl asked, her voice a mere whisper now. “Did I do something to make her leave?”

I love you, and you could never make me leave, the dragon replied. I don’t think you did anything wrong. You are perfect.

“Oh, you’re always saying things like that,” the girl said, raising her arm to wipe her eyes. “I didn’t mean to cry about it. I just can’t get her out of my head, sometimes.”

I am in your head, the dragon offered. You can focus on me whenever you feel this way. Dragons forget a lot, the purple dragon added. But that doesn’t mean that you have to forget.

“… You know, you outshine all the stars in the sky,” the girl said with a smile. As embarrassed as such a comparison made the dragon feel, she could feel the girl’s happiness flooding back through their bond. And that was all that the dragon wanted.

Leave a Reply

