Full of Love: In Memory of Kahlan

This is one of the first times I ever saw Kahlan, one of my second pair of fancy rats. I work in pet retail, and one of the things that keeps me going is saying “hello” to the critters. We had been without rats for a while – the passing of our first pair had been difficult. But this little girl kept interacting with me every time I passed by. It took some time, but I ended up falling in love with Kahlan. If you watch closely, you’ll see a black furry butt inside the igloo – that was Cara, the rat we took home with Kahlan days later.

Kahlan was the rat that made me want to love rats again. She was curious and bold – exploring the cage long before Cara ventured out of their igloo. She smelled our hands first, and even took to grooming our hands, arms, faces – anywhere in a display of rat family affection. She even let us flip her on her back and pin her, an action that signifies dominance. Her response? Licking our hands and fingers in submission. Her and Cara would scuffle for dominance occasionally, but never too rough. She was a good sister.

Kahlan passed away peacefully early this morning. She was over two years old, and such a sweetheart. All she wanted to do last night was to be pet and cuddled. We’re both going to miss her so much, but we and her knew it was time. I like to envision her running across the rainbow bridge toward our first rats, meeting Patches and Gadget for the first time. That doesn’t mean I’m finished feeling sad. She was full of love – we’ll have to give Cara twice as much love to make up for her absence. Rats are beautiful creatures, and I hope everyone gets to see that someday. I’m grateful to have seen it myself.

Leave a Reply

