The Hemingway Editor App is Pure Writing Magic

keyboard-829330
Source: seagul, CC0 via Pixabay

I was busy doing some content writing today when I discovered something. Something amazing. I’m writing with it right now, and I don’t plan on stopping.

You see, I wrote an article the other day and learned that I’ve been reverting to the passive voice. I know it’s okay if a few passive sentences slip into your work – it happens. But I had more than a few uses of the passive voice. And it took several minutes of staring at the screen to notice! Sneaky.

As I was writing today, I made a conscious effort to avoid using the passive voice. And a search on Google brought me a great tool – the Hemingway Editor App. This might be old news to some, but it’s new to me.

Hemingway Editor
Source: The Hemingway Editor App

The Hemingway App is an online text editor that helps you in five ways. It tells you if your sentences:

  • are hard to read
  • are very hard to read
  • have a simpler alternative
  • have adverbs
  • use the passive voice

Each error has a different colored highlight, and some offer suggestions on how to fix it. The Hemingway App also has an option to write with a minimalist view where the edits are not shown. This is great if you want to write your piece first and edit later.

Aside from the Headline Analyzer, this is my new favorite writing tool. The app functions online, but is also available for purchase as an offline desktop app. If your writing gets word-y or flooded with the passive voice, you should give it a try! 

 

Leave a Reply

