Update: Moving, Musing, and Writing

Chuang Yen Monastery (33)
Source: I took this photo at the local monastery on a sunny, peaceful day.

Mind the dust, friends. It’s been a little while.

I recently went through my blog list and un-followed pages that haven’t posted in a year or more. I know it’s only been a month and a half since my last post, but I don’t want to become those blogs. I want to publish blogs on an (almost) daily basis. My main issue is perfectionism; I like to write long blogs, and pick them apart until they look just right. I need to learn how to blog in a shorter span of time, and promote consistency over all. I probably also need a pat on the back sometimes.

Things have been happening since my last post – in a way they are all good things, though some are more challenging than others. Namely, I need to aim to be moved out of our current living situation by the start of August. This development comes with some baggage: apartment hunting, coordinating with a roommate, balancing expenses, and considering new or extra jobs for more pay. There will be extra expenses.

I say this is a good thing because I never wanted to live where we are for too long because we aren’t truly on our own. We share the fridge, bathroom, and kitchen, and it gets cramped. Our time here has been easy, and convenient, and it made me feel safe for a long time, and that’s okay. But it has always felt like we only got one foot out the door, with the other still firmly wedged inside. It is a change, but a change I feel we needed.

20160611_141022
Source: Kittens from our adoption event.

But in the wake of this change, there have been better things. Casting Apps, the story I posted here, was nominated for a Daily Deviation on Deviantart. It may seem small, but none of my works have ever been selected for this before. A lot of users commented afterward, saying that they wished there was more to the story. Maybe I’ll look into expanding on that universe, that idea, in the future!

Furthermore, since HubPages has started created niche websites for specific topics, several of my hubs have been migrated over. As a result, traffic has increased tremendously. My Minecraft hubs are seeing the most attention. To add to that, I started making instructional videos for my Minecraft hubs; while it’s still a work in progress, I believe they have contributed to visitor traffic as well. It’s exciting!

Finally, LinkedIn – a site which I don’t use enough – brought me a great writing opportunity. I haven’t started work yet, but the work promises to be regular and on a daily basis. I’m excited to be able to write consistently for a website again. A friend recently asked me to help post monthly journals for a Deviantart group we are both a part of, too. Since that’s monthly, I don’t feel it will get in the way of other work, and will give me something else to look forward to on a routine basis.

I’ve cleaned up the blog theme in the meanwhile! :3

Leave a Reply

