Minecraft: Islands in the Sky

brigdesigns via Pixabay, CC0 1.0
Source: bngdesigns, CC0 via Pixabay

Have you ever wanted to live on an island devoid of modern civilization? Or move out to the country just to get away? Imagine having a floating island just like this one, a place that only you could reach. There are islands that can only be reached by boat; this sky island can only be reached by a flying ship. Who doesn’t want a flying ship to go home to their floating island?

I’ll admit that I feel this way sometimes, which is why this picture really speaks to me. My current job has me spending eight hours of my day surrounded by customers of varying temperaments. Some of them are kind and courteous, and some are not. Helping either of them can be socially exhausting, especially on a busy day. I do enjoy helping people, even more-so when it comes to their pets. For someone who needs solitude to re-energize, though, it’s tiring!

I was looking at this picture again the other day, and suddenly had the urge to recreate the floating island in Minecraft. One of the best things about Minecraft is the ability to build anything you can imagine and then experience it in-game. I might not be able to physically own a floating island in the sky, but I can have one virtually.

I haven’t done a whole lot of Minecraft builds in the past; I love to build barns, houses, rabbit coups, horse pens, and anything having to do with farming. Castles, cities, floating islands – not so much. But I really want to do it. I might not be able to sketch it, or recreate it digitally, but I can build it block by block with Minecraft. That makes me happy!

I’ve only just started, but I like to imagine what it will be like when it’s completed. Maybe I could branch out the island and make a little floating plot where I could farm. And another, where I could pen in some chickens! And there’s that tower on the central island already – how many floors will it have? Those are the things I think about.

Leave a Reply

