Rediscovering The Magic: Gratitude

IMG_20160122_213450
Ever since I saw The Secret movie, I have been an avid fan of Rhonda Byrne. The law of attraction – the concept that like thoughts attract like things – was something that finally made sense to me spiritually. Focusing on positive thoughts attracts positive things, while putting energy into negative thoughts brings about negative things and situations. It seemed so simple and straightforward, and in a way it is. However, it is a concept that has slipped away from me many times, despite my knowledge of it.

Rhonda Byrne’s The Magic found its way to me a couple of Christmas’ ago. The book outlines a 28-day exercise to gradually introduce gratitude into your life. Each chapter (split into days) has a new assignment for the reader to complete. Sometimes, there is a note to read tomorrow’s chapter the day before in order to prepare for the next task. I know, because I’ve done this before. I just haven’t finished it yet.

The furthest I’ve gotten through the exercises is somewhere around Day 15 – about halfway through the book. After this two week stretch of gratitude practice, I start to fall behind. I miss a few days, and try not to beat myself up about. I keep up with my gratitude journal, until I fall behind in that, too. Then the book goes back on my bookshelf, and waits until the next time I pick it up with the intention of starting over. For me, that next time was tonight.

I truly do want to get through all of the exercises. When I was practicing the assignments outlined in The Magic, I remember feeling happier, and (most importantly) truly grateful for the people and things I have in my life. Lately, that feeling has eluded me. I know that deep down I am thankful for what I have, but it is devoid of emotion. It is a logical fact, something I view from a distance and shrug off. I have lost that sort of magic.

I’ve seen a number of blogs follow a month-long challenge on various topics. I wonder if I can do the same with the exercises in The Magic. Would having to write a daily post on my practice of gratitude help keep me on track? Or should I take the tasks a couple of days at a time, so that I don’t become overwhelmed? I don’t want to get stuck in that rut of falling behind and feeling bad about it again. And posting daily for this month has become a little hectic itself.

Fellow bloggers: what do you suggest? If I did incorporate it into my blog, I would hold off until February at the earliest.

One thought on “Rediscovering The Magic: Gratitude

Leave a Reply

