When Ghosts Exist

I’m short a blog post today, and it’s late, so I’m going to share a piece I found from my college coursework in 2011. It’s about (you guessed it) ghosts, and what may have been the first thing that made me believe.

death-164762_1280
Source: PublicDomainPictures, CC0 via Pixabay

Ghosts truly exist. I’ve known this since I was a child and saw a large, ape-like man walking toward my bed in the dark. I had been lying awake on my back, staring across the room when I saw him take shape outside of the closet. I hid my head under the covers and buried my face into my pillow. I was convinced that he would disappear if I couldn’t see him. When I woke up in the morning, I was still curled up under the covers. I spent each night afterward with my eyes squeezed shut the moment the lights went out. However, my fear of ghosts and fascination with the supernatural continued.. Those who do not believe in ghosts are less likely to have a spiritual experience.

Not all ghosts exist to frighten us. When my family was waiting to move into our new house, we stayed scrunched into my aunt’s house for a few months. One night after school, my older cousin, Sarah, set up a Ouija board on her bed. All of the kids gathered around with curiosity. My brothers and cousins thought the Ouija board was a joke; I wasn’t so sure. So when Sarah and her sister Marissa put their fingers on the planchette and told me to ask a question, I thought of something neither of them knew: I asked who my friend had the biggest crush on. My cousins didn’t attend my middle school, and had never met Belinda. Her crush was our little secret.

The planchette began to move through the letters. G-R-E-G, it spelled. And when it moved right through his last name, I sat dumbfounded and nodded my head. I felt like some spirit, unbeknownst to me, was keeping tabs on my life. When the adults came in to see what we were doing, my cousins asked the board if there was, in fact, a spirit present. The planchette began to spell out a string of words before my stepmother, aunt, and cousins burst into tears. The words were to a song my cousins’ dead aunt used to sing to them when they were children. The adults believed that she was singing to them through the board. They believed that she had been watching over my cousins ever since she had died. That night, I believed that she had been watching over me, too.

Ghosts exist all around us, whether or not we choose to see them. I believe that they can choose not to see us, too. Whenever I watch a group of paranormal investigators on television search the most haunted places they can find, I remind myself that ghosts can exist anywhere. They can wander your old apartment when everyone is asleep. Ghosts can exist in the houses of their nieces and nephews, hoping to sing their favorite songs to them again. Spirits exist all over the world, waiting for us to believe that they are real.

Leave a Reply

