Dreams of Criticism and Rejection

IMG_20160114_210659_605~2

I had just finished writing my daily blog post, and was sharing it on all my social media sites – Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and Tumblr. I was pretty proud of it, and took a break from the computer for a bit. When I went to peruse my Tumblr dashboard later, I noticed that I had a notification. I had been tagged in a post – really?! Excited, I clicked on the link, only to have my smile wilt away. The post was by a Tumblr user I followed and looked up to. The thing was, they had written about my post topic, and tagged me in it to criticize my portrayal of the subject. Their words were tactful, but very harsh. I was left feeling embarrassed and depressed. I couldn’t see how I was in the wrong, and thought that I had kept a lot of my personal opinions to myself.

Thankfully, this was just my dream from last night (phew), but isn’t it pretty realistic? Everyone has their own outlook and opinion – who is to say you’ll only ever encounter people who agree with you? Putting yourself out there, on the internet, so frequently can be a cause of major stress. At least, I think so. And this is just me writing a blog post a day; I can’t imagine how YouTubers and popular internet celebrities feel on a daily basis. Today, so much stress from one little thing piled on top of me until I had to step back, take a break, and tell myself there was nothing else I could do right now.

I have a sort of fascination with dream interpretation, and have a dream dictionary that I love to consult when I feel up to dissecting them – The Hidden Meaning of Dreams, by Craig Hamilton-Parker. The book is beautiful and comes with a lovely dream journal to fill out, for anyone interested. Your dreams can sometimes be eye-opening experiences, once you learn to recall them in greater detail.

The entry for “rejection” suggests that the dreamer may be refusing to accept an influence or situation in life that is being forced upon them. Being rejected in a dream can point to feelings of alienation, or lack of self-worth. This is a fairly logical interpretation; someone who is less confident in their writing ability and appeal might be afraid of this very situation. They might feel insignificant or low compared to others, and this might be their worst nightmare. So … is this actually my greatest fear?

I wouldn’t say it’s out of character. In fact, it’s pretty spot on. My opinion of myself is pretty humble, especially when it comes to putting my writing out there. Even if it is just one blog post a day, it is still something I throw a lot of time and effort into. I’m a sensitive person, I won’t deny it. And when I stress about something, or overthink it, I can fall into an unproductive downward spiral. I’m hoping that the more I blog on a daily basis, the less stressful and more fulfilling the process becomes. After all, I do enjoy it at the end of the day.

What sort of stress dreams do you have? Sleep well, and have peaceful dreams!

9 thoughts on “Dreams of Criticism and Rejection

  1. Hi,
    I know Linda and Jeanette.and Send Sunshine.
    Great hook! I really thought it happened to you! I was attacked on my blog once or twice. It totally is a realistic possibility.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too! Maybe you can check out my site if you can use a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel my blog posts are like my children, they are an intimate part of me, I’m sure most writers feel that way so there is always that fear of rejection but I have come to understand that through disagreements, differing view points and criticism done in a constructive way, I can father my growth as a writer and human being… I like your honesty and inference writing! I look forward to reading more of your work! Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

